Zambri – w/Somebody

by MV

In brief: So I first caught up with New Yorkers Zambri last August with the funky, dancey Easier. That was one of my tracks of 2009, and as a result the first time I heard w/Somebody I was kind of unsure what to make of it. Wildly different, it represents a moodier, more organic guitar-driven sound. And it takes a few listens to work its magic. But wow, it is magic. A beautiful, almost Cocteaus-esque slow-burner that codas with an exquisite, aching refrain worthy of Robyn. My only caveat is that I hope this is a sign of their versatility, rather than a change in direction, as both sides of Zambri are equally appealing.
See also: Well, Easier, obviously. But here‘s a pretty decent reworking of w/Somebody that retains the original’s defining characteristics while adding a bit of dancefloor fun to the mix.

